• Home
  • Depcik Selected to be Docking Young Faculty Scholar

Depcik Selected to be Docking Young Faculty Scholar

Friday, September 20, 2013

Christopher Depcik, associate professor of mechanical engineering, is one of 10 KU faculty selected as a 2013 Docking Family Young Scholar. The program was established in 1999 by a $1 million commitment from former Kansas First Lady Meredith Docking.

“Mrs. Docking established this generous award to honor faculty who have distinguished themselves early in their careers at KU,” said Jeff Vitter, provost and executive vice chancellor. “Our strategic plan, Bold Aspirations, has guided our efforts to bring many talented, young faculty to Lawrence in recent years across all of our schools and the College. These awards enable us to recognize and retain outstanding individuals, even in a challenging economic environment.”

Depcik joined KU in 2008 after receiving his doctoral degree and completing a postdoctoral research fellowship at the University of Michigan. He started the EcoHawks program, which recently dedicated its new home, the Hill Engineering Research and Development Center. His work has been honored with a Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence and a Sustainability Leadership Award from KU, as well as the Society of Automotive Engineers Ralph R. Teetor Award. His research is focused on alternative and renewable fuels for internal combustion engines.

“It is a tremendous honor to be nominated by my colleagues and receive this recognition. It speaks volumes to the high quality work that my students, both undergraduate and graduate, have accomplished so that I may succeed in my own career,” Depcik said.

Individuals selected as Docking Faculty Scholars receive an annual stipend over the duration of their award, either three or five years.  The award may be renewed for a second term. The other nine faculty selected in 2013:

Shawn Alexander, associate professor of African & African American studies Dale Dorsey, associate professor of philosophy William Elliott, associate professor of social welfare Tamara Falicov, chair and associate professor of film and media studies Trent Herda, assistant professor of health, sport & exercise science Virginia Harper Ho, associate professor of law Wonpil Im, associate professor of molecular biology Ebenezer Obadare, associate professor of sociology Hyunjin Seo, assistant professor of journalism and mass communications.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times