• Home
  • Engineering Senior Among KU Nominees for National Scholarship

Engineering Senior Among KU Nominees for National Scholarship

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

A senior from the University of Kansas School of Engineering is one of seven outstanding KU students selected by a committee coordinated by the KU Honors Program to compete for Marshall Scholarships, which provide for study in the United Kingdom.

Ryan Endres, a senior from De Soto in aerospace engineering, will be among the KU nominees for Marshall Scholarships that will compete in the Chicago region.

“The students nominated for these top national scholarships are a reflection of KU’s excellence in undergraduate education across all fields and disciplines,” said Bryan Young, associate professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering and director of the University Honors Program. “Through the Honors Program, we assist these students in translating their academic excellence into opportunities for service, leadership and research across all disciplines.” 

Winners in the Chicago region will be selected shortly after Nov. 13-14 interviews for finalists. Nominees selected for finalist interviews will travel to Chicago along with competitors from thirteen Midwestern states. Selection criteria include an exceptional academic record, leadership and potential to serve as a citizen ambassador to the United Kingdom. 

Endres participates in Engineers Without Borders and the Self Engineering Leadership Fellows Program. He was elected by Aviation Week magazine as one of the winners of its new awards program, Tomorrow’s Engineering Leaders: The Twenty20s. This award identifies students already making a difference through academic performance, research and engagement outside of the classroom. Endres spent the summer of 2013 as an intern at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California, compiling data from the Mars rover Curiosity and writing computer code to create a searchable, centralized database readily available for NASA engineers seeking specific information on any of the rover’s previous activities. A Rhodes Scholar applicant, he took second place at the 2014 Kansas Collegiate Math Competition and received the Mathematics Department’s top freshman award in 2012. 

KU’s other six nominees are Jenny Lynn Curatola, Emma Halling, Ryan Limbocker, Leigh Loving, Micah Melia, and Erin Tomkins.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times