• Home
  • Faculty Members Recognized for Excellent Teaching

Faculty Members Recognized for Excellent Teaching

Thursday, August 18, 2005

 [Prof. Dave Petr] [Asst. Prof. Lorin Maletsky]

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Professor Dave Petr and Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering Lorin Maletsky were among the first faculty members to be visited by the "Surprise Patrol" during the first two days of class at the University of Kansas. The patrol, led by KU Chancellor Robert E. Hemenway, was busy handing out $5,000 Kemper Awards to unsuspecting KU faculty. The Kemper Awards recognize excellence in teaching and advising.

Also traveling with the patrol were representatives from Commerce Bank of Lawrence and the KU Endowment Association.

"It's very much an honor, and I appreciate the Kemper Foundation for making it happen," Petr said. "It's a great program. I'm really happy to see good teaching being rewarded."

In all, 20 KU professors will be honored with Kemper Awards, and $100,000 will be distributed during the first weeks of the semester.

The W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence recognize outstanding teachers and advisers at KU as determined by a seven-member selection committee. Now in the 10th year, the awards were established by a $500,000 fund from the William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, and $500,000 in matching funds from KUEA.

The William T. Kemper Foundation was established in 1989 after Kemper's death. It supports Midwest communities and concentrates on initiatives in education, health and human services, civic improvements and the arts.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times