• Home
  • Six Engineering Researchers among KU 'Leading Light' Award Winners

Six Engineering Researchers among KU 'Leading Light' Award Winners

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Six faculty members from the University of Kansas School of Engineering were recently recognized as some of KU’s most productive researchers.   These six are among 40 researchers from the Lawrence campus to receive KU’s Leading Light Award.  This group served as principal investigators or co-principal investigators on externally funded grants of  $1 million or more awarded during the 2012 fiscal year.

The Leading Light Award Winners from the School of Engineering are:

•Cory Berkland, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

•Kyle Camarda, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

•Prajna Dhar, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

•Sarah Kieweg, Mechanical Engineering

•Anil Misra, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

•Qiang Ye, Bioengineering Research Center

Recipients were recognized at a luncheon, where each received an inscribed bronze sunflower symbolic of Kansas and their leadership in research.

This is the second year of the Leading Light Award program.  It was established at KU by Jeff Vitter, provost and executive vice chancellor.

“By contributing to the research enterprise at KU in a major way,” said Vitter, “these individuals and teams serve as leading lights and role models for others.”

At the ceremony, recipients of the awards had an opportunity to describe their project. Past recipients of the award also attended the luncheon.

“KU researchers in all fields are competitive with the best in the country,” said event co-host Steve Warren, vice chancellor for research and graduate studies. “Success in obtaining large grants is just one indicator of that, and this recognition is well-deserved.”

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times