School of Engineering

Arvin Agah, Ph.D.
  • Dean
  • ***KU Safe Zone Member
Amy Wierman
  • Assistant to the Dean
Eaton Hall

Engineering Research and Graduate Programs

Responsible for graduate engineering programs and fostering the research mission of the KU School of Engineering.

Anna Paradis
  • Director of Graduate Academic Services
  • ***KU Safe Zone Member
LEEP2, room 1415R
Candan Tamerler, PH.D.
  • Associate Dean for Research
3114 Learned Hall
Lynn Villafuerte
  • Assistant Director of Graduate Academic Services
  • ***KU Safe Zone Member
LEEP2, room 1415N
Susan Williams
  • Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Learned Hall, Room 4142

Active Learning Initiative

Responsible for supporting adoption and implementation of active-learning and student-centered pedagogies throughout the undergraduate engineering curricula.  

Caroline Bennett, Ph.D., P.E.
  • Lead, Engineering Course Transformation Initiative
  • Associate Professor of Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering

Space and Assessment

Responsible for overseeing usable space in the School of Engineering complex as well as monitoring construction progress.

  • Building Complex Manager
M2SEC, G520E
Robert Parsons, Ph.D.
  • Director of Construction
  • Professor of Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
Learned Hall, room 2160D

Diversity and Women's Programs

Responsible for fostering the success of women and underrepresented minorities at both the undergraduate and graduate student level in the KU School of Engineering.

Matthew McCollough
  • IHAWKe EPIC Visiting Scholar & Adjunct Researcher
  • Program Coordinator, IHAWKe Diversity and Womens Programs
LEEP2, room 1415J
Andrew Williams
  • Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, ***KU Safe Zone Member
Eaton Hall, Room 1, Suite 1C

Responsible for fostering the success, recruitment, and retention of women and underrepresented undergraduate and graduate students and faculty in the KU School of Engineering.

Founder and Director of IHAWKe (Indigenous, Hispanic, African American, Women, KU Engineering) program.

Edwards Campus Programs

Responsible for engineering programs located on the KU Edwards Campus in Overland Park, KS.

Herbert Tuttle, Professor of the Practice
  • Professor of the Practice
  • Assistant Dean of Engineering for Edwards Campus
  • Director of Engineering Management and Project Management Programs
BEST Building 350F, Edwards Campus

Engineering Undergraduate Programs

Oversees the undergraduate student experience, including programs to recruit students, retain students and help them navigate the administrative requirements of university life.

Susan Williams
  • Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Learned Hall, Room 4142
Chris Wiles
  • Assistant Dean, ***KU Safe Zone Member
LEEP2, room 1415
Dawn Shew
  • Director of Undergraduate Academic Services
  • * KU Safe Zone Member
  • * Mental Health First Aid Training
LEEP2, room 1415N
Kathryn Silvers
  • Assistant Director, Undergraduate Recruitment ***KU Safe Zone Member
LEEP2, room 1417
Lindsey McCaig
  • Student Engagement and Outreach Coordinator, ***KU Safe Zone Member
Learned Hall, room 1135
Peg Milster
  • Engineering Student Services
1415 LEEP2
Corey Green
  • Outreach Coordinator
LEEP2 - room 1415F
Jen Jedlicka
  • Scholarship Coordinator
LEEP2, room 1415
katie eisenhauer
  • Graduate Assistant
LEEP2 - room 1415

Self Engineering Undergraduate Leadership Fellows Program

The mission of the Madison A. and Lila Self Engineering Leadership Fellows Program (the “SELF Program”) is to develop passionate engineering and computer science graduates who are strongly goal-oriented and who bring the business skills and vision needed to guide the technology-based corporations of tomorrow.

  • Program Director, Self Engineering Leadership Fellows Program
LEEP2, room 1415
  • Program Facilitator, Self Engineering Leadership Fellows Program
LEEP2, room 1415
Adam Smith
  • Assistant Director for Leadership Programs; SELF Program, ***KU Safe Zone Member
LEEP2, room 1415

Engineering Career Center

Provides students with high quality information, resources, and opportunities so they may confidently pursue their desired career goals, and assists them in their efforts to successfully connect with employers or graduate/professional school programs.

Photo, Faith Eissler
  • Career Coordinator, Engineering Career Center
LEEP2, room 1410
Kristi Kamm
  • Engineering Career Center, Career Networks Senior Coordinator
LEEP2, room 1410
Jennifer Nigro
  • Assistant Director, Engineering Career Center
LEEP2, room 1410
Cathy Schwabauer
  • Director, Engineering Career Center, ***KU Safe Zone Member
LEEP2, room 1410

Engineering Technology Service Center

Provides computer and information technology support for the educational mission of School of Engineering.

John Kumar
  • Manager, Engineering Technology Service Center
Eaton Hall, room 1001D
Stefan Sawyer
  • Systems Administrator, Engineering Technology Service Center
Eaton Hall, room 1001F
Owen Kelly
  • Senior Linux Systems Administrator, Engineering Technology Service Center
Eaton Hall, room 1001E
Adam Lett
  • Senior Technician, Engineering Technology Service Center
Eaton Hall, room 1001B
Austin Polley
  • Senior Technician, Engineering Technology Service Center
  • ***KU Safe Zone Member
Eaton Hall, room 1001C
Tim Miller
  • IT Support Technician, Engineering Technology Service Center
Eaton Hall, room 1001A
Jason Habiger
  • IT Support Technician, Engineering Technology Service Center
Eaton Hall, room 1001K
Leslie Soden
  • IT Support Technician, Engineering Technology Service Center
Eaton Hall, room 1001

Engineering Departmental Development and Application Services

Provides web development and support for the School of Engineering and its departments.

Patrick Hangauer
  • IT Assistant Programmer
Learned Hall, room 1132, suite C

Engineering Communications & Public Relations

Responsible for communications with media, prospective and current students, and alumni, as well as social media channels that promote the school's interaction with its students, alumni and friends.

Cody Howard
  • Public Relations Director, ***KU Safe Zone Member
Eaton Hall, room 1, suite 1F

Engineering Budget Office

Responsible for the financial affairs of the KU School of Engineering.

Heather Abernathy
  • Business Manager
Eaton Hall, room 1

Engineering Endowment Development

Supports the mission of the KU School of Engineering by encouraging endowed gifts, planned gifts, corporate gifts and annual contributions.

Learn more about Kansas University Endowment.

Michael Arp
  • Development Director and Team Leader
1891 Constant Ave.
Austin Ice
  • Development Officer, KU Endowment
1891 Constant Ave.
Susan Reilly
  • Senior Development Director, KU Endowment
1891 Constant Ave., Lawrence, KS 66047

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times